In New Mexico, the age of consent is 17 years old. If an adult an individual over the age of 18 has sex with a minor between the ages of 13 and 16, the adult may be prosecuted for 4th degree criminal sexual penetration. Different standards apply when the offender is in some position of trust or authority over the minor, such as a teacher, employer, or coach. In such situations, one should assume that the age of consent is 18, at the very least.
In New Mexico, the age of consent is 17 years old. If an adult (an individual over the age of 18) has sex with a minor between the ages of I have experience working with individuals and couples on sexuality and gender issues, intimacy, relationships and life transitions. My focus is sex therapy. I am the only sex therapist in Santa Fe certified by the American Association of Sex Educators, Counselors and Therapists.
In New Mexico, it is illegal for an adult someone 18 or older to have sex with a minor someone younger than 16 , even if the sex is consensual. Those who break the law have committed statutory rape , even if the child agrees to or initiates the activity.
Vacation (2015) - Making love On The 4 Corners - HD
The New Mexico Children, Youth, and Families Department is joining forces with police and the state attorney general's office to create a child safety strike force. The first training session to raise awareness about sex trafficking of children in New Mexico was held on Thursday. The Children, Youth, and Families Department is working with the state attorney general's office to provide better training and resources to stop sex trafficking from happening.